Filing of applications: +375 (17) 272 98 43
Consultation on IP: +375 (17) 272 97 14
19 March 2021

On March 17, 2021 the Protocol on the Protection of Industrial Designs to the Eurasian Patent Convention on September 9, 1994, adopted at the respective Diplomatic Conference in Nur-Sultan on September 9, 2019 (hereinafter – the Protocol, Convention) entered into force for the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Republic of Armenia.

The Protocol provides for the creation of the Eurasian system of legal protection of industrial, allowing applicants to obtain a single Eurasian industrial design patent, which will be valid on the territory of all parties to the Convention, which have signed and ratified the Protocol or joined it.

As of March 17, 2021, the Protocol is ratified by the Republic of Azerbaijan Republic, the Republic of Armenia, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Republic of Belarus currently undertakes activities needed for its accession to the Protocol.

The accession of the Republic of Belarus to the Protocol is aimed at simplifying and accelerating the procedure for obtaining legal protection of industrial designs, valid simultaneously on the territory of all states parties to the Convention, as well as decreasing the expenditures of applicants and right holders, including Belarusian producers, ensuring free and protected flow of their products, which have an industrial design applied, on the territory of the states parties to the Convention.